LibKey Nomad browser extension LibKey Nomad is a free browser extension that simplifies and streamlines access to the UNL Libraries' subscription resources.
LibKey Nomad is currently available for the following browsers:
Installing LibKey Nomad is simple. Start with the link below to download the extension:
Once you have added LibKey Nomad to your browser, make sure to set your institution to University of Nebraska Lincoln.
LibKey Nomad does not require account creation. For more about LibKey's privacy policy, visit the Third Iron privacy policy page.
When you land on a page for an article, LibKey Nomad automatically checks against the UNL Libraries' subscriptions and provides a link to a:
If you are off campus you will be directed to authenticate before being taken to the PDF of the article. LibKey Nomad does not store your credentials or require you to create an account.
LibKey Nomad automatically places a button in the bottom corner of a compatible webpage. This button changes its appearance to indicate what level of access is available.
Download PDF indicates that the UNL Libraries' provides access to the PDF, and will take you directly to the PDF of the document.
Article Link indicates that the UNL Libraries' provides access to the article, and will take you to a page where you can access the article. You may also be able to download the article from there.
Access Options... indicates that the UNL Library does not have direct online access to the article. Clicking this will take you to a search of our resources and the Interlibrary Loan request form. Log in with your UNL ID and password, and the form will be pre-filled by LibKey Nomad. Just submit the request to receive a PDF copy of the article in 24-72 hours.
LibKey Nomad integrates with Wikipedia to provide quick access links for items in the references list.
LibKey Nomad provides full text links to items in PubMed search results.
LibKey Nomad also works with many subscription databases, including Scopus and Web of Science.
IMPORTANT NOTES:
LibKey Nomad is not compatible with Ebsco or ProQuest databases.
It might be beneficial to use more than one browser plug-in to search for full-text article access since they have different coverage. However, if you do use more than one, please be aware of the following potential issue:
LibKey Nomad is a fairly new option for UNL affiliates. Additional questions and answers will be added over time.
Does LibKey Nomad work for every site/database/article? No. LibKey Nomad uses an item's DOI to retrieve full text options. It cannot retrieve items with no DOI. Additionally, LibKey Nomad is currently configured to work only with selected scholarly websites, and not on the web in general.
Does using LibKey Nomad mean I won't have to log in to access articles anymore? It will still prompt you to authenticate with your UNL username and password the first time you use it (each session), but after that it should authenticate automatically until you start a new browser session.
Does LibKey Nomad only work with UNL Library subscription materials? No, it also uses Unpaywall to find free versions of articles that are not part of the UNL Libraries' subscriptions.
If you need more help using LibKey Nomad at UNL,