All books and other materials in the library are organized by call number. Most call numbers are based on the Library of Congress classification system, which organizes materials by subject. The following demonstrates how materials about theater are organized in the library. (Note that this is only a partial list.)
Brief Overview
Detailed Overview
Costume – GT 500-2370 & TT 1-678
|
|
|
|
Clothing, Dressmaking, Tailoring |
TT 1-678 |
Theaters – NA 6820-6845
|
General works |
NA 6820-6821 |
|
Unites States |
NA 6830-6835 |
|
Other countries A-Z |
NA 6840 |
The Performing Arts – PN 1530-1590
|
The Monologue |
PN 1530 |
||
|
The Dialogue (scene studies, etc.) |
PN 1551 |
||
|
Periodicals |
PN 1560 |
||
|
Study and teaching |
PN 1576 |
||
|
United States |
PN 1577 |
||
|
Dictionaries |
PN 1579 |
||
|
Performing arts as a profession |
PN 1580 |
||
|
Outside the United States |
PN 1582 |
||
|
Biography |
PN 1583 |
||
|
General works |
PN 1584 |
||
|
Centers for the performing arts |
PN 1585-1589 |
||
| Special topics A-Z | PN 1590 | ||
|
|
|
||
Drama – PN 1600-3307
Please note that plays themselves are classed as part of national literatures, e.g.
PQ: French, Spanish, and Italian literatures
PR: English literature
PS: American literature
|
Periodicals |
PN 1600-1609 |
|
American and English |
PN 1601 |
|
Museums, libraries, etc. |
PN 1620 |
|
Collections |
PN 1621-1623 |
|
Various authors |
PN 1621 |
|
Collected essays of individual authors |
PN 1623 |
|
Dictionaries |
PN 1625 |
|
Philosophy, aesthetics, scope, relations, etc. |
PN 1631-1650 |
|
General works |
PN 1631 |
|
Special topics A-Z |
PN 1633 |
|
Relation to other forms of literature |
PN 1635 |
|
Relation to life |
PN 1641 |
|
Relation to sociology, economics, political science, etc. |
PN 1643 |
|
Relation to philosophy, ethics, and religion |
PN 1647 |
|
Other relations A-Z |
PN 1650 |
|
General works on drama and the stage |
PN 1654-1655 |
|
1801- |
PN 1655 |
|
Technique of dramatic composition |
PN 1660-1693 |
|
General works, American and English |
PN 1661 |
|
General works, German |
PN 1664 |
|
Tragic effect |
PN 1675 |
|
Irony |
PN 1680 |
|
Character treatment |
PN 1689 |
|
Play within a play |
PN 1692 |
|
Study and Teaching |
PN 1701 |
|
Criticism |
PN 1707 |
|
Biography of Critics |
PN 1708 |
|
History |
PN 1720-1861 |
|
Comprehensive, American and English |
PN 1721 |
|
Compends, outlines, etc. |
PN 1731 |
|
Medieval, general works |
PN 1751 |
|
Medieval miracle plays, mysteries, passion plays |
PN 1761 |
|
Renaissance, general works |
PN 1785 |
|
Renaissance, special topics |
PN 1791 |
|
Modern, general works |
PN 1811 |
|
Modern, special topics |
PN 1821 |
|
17th century |
PN 1831 |
|
18th century |
PN 1841 |
|
19th century |
PN 1851 |
|
20th century |
PN 1861 |
|
Historical Plays |
PN 1870-1879 |
|
General works |
PN 1872 |
|
Special topics A-Z |
PN 1879 |
|
Tragedy |
PN 1891-1899 |
|
General works |
PN 1891 |
|
History and criticism |
PN 1892 |
|
Special topics A-Z |
PN 1899 |
|
Comedy |
PN 1922-1929 |
|
General works |
PN 1922 |
|
Special topics |
PN 1929 |
Dramatic representation. The theater, PN 2000-3307
|
Periodicals |
PN 2000-2009 |
|
Societies |
PN 2015-2017 |
|
Collections |
PN 2020-2021 |
|
Dictionaries |
PN 2035 |
|
General works on the theater |
PN 2036-2037 |
|
Addresses, essays, lectures |
PN 2038 |
|
Philosophy, aesthetics, relation to other arts, etc. |
PN 2039-2051 |
|
Directories, guidebooks, etc. (international) |
PN 2052 |
|
Management, administration, production, and direction |
PN 2053 |
|
Acting |
PN 2055-2073 |
|
Theater as a profession |
PN 2074 |
|
Study and teaching |
PN 2075-2080 |
|
Special methods of presentation |
PN 2081 |
|
The stage and accessories |
PN 2085-2091 |
|
Satire, humor, etc. |
PN 2095 |
|
Biography of stage designers |
PN 2096 |
|
History |
PN 2100-2193 |
|
Biography |
PN 2205-2217 |
|
Special topics A-Z |
PN 2219 |
|
Special regions or countries |
PN 2219.3-3030 |
Collections of General Literature: Drama – PN 6110.5-6120
|
Comprehensive collections |
PN 6111 |
|
Minor collections |
PN 6112 |
|
By subject or form A-Z |
PN 6120 |
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window|
|
Collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare, essays and metadata worldwide, by scholars and educators in the field. by Peter S. Donaldson, Director |
Contains various media (images and video) in collections, including Theatre Arts and the history of the Johnny Carson School.
From the Library of Congress, Anyone researching music, theater, or dance will find it invaluable.
The internet is awash in digital content documenting the global history of performance. Finding the often siloed collections can be a challenge, but the resources below can help you access billions of digital objects available freely online.
The Billy Rose Theatre Division of The New York Public Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive archives devoted to the theatrical arts. Encompassing dramatic performance in all its diversity, the division is an indispensable resource for artists, writers, researchers, scholars, students, and the general public.
A program of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
This site has been maintained since 1996 to provide easy access to useful research sites throughout the world.
The founder of the Tony Awards, this group's website also provides resources for careers, podcasts, and hundreds of hours of video footage of theatrical performance.
Collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare, essays and metadata worldwide, by scholars and educators in the field.
by Peter S. Donaldson, Director
