New Resources & Collections Updates: New Resources: Adam Matthew Digital Collections

Primary sources on the history of global exploration from 1420-1920. (Full-Text and Images)

Oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records documenting the experiences of American military personnel and civilians during the Second World War. Sourced from The National WWII Museum, New Orleans. (Full-Text)

Primary sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Sub-collections include: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493 1859; Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945. (Full-Text)

British government files on South Africa under the first thirty years of the apartheid regime. (Full-Text)

British government records relating to Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, from the decline of the Silk Road, through the diplomatic confrontation between the British and Russian Empires known as the Great Game, to the influence of the emergent Soviet Union in the 20th century. (Full-Text)

Published and unpublished primary source materials from the Childrens Literature and Graphic Arts collections held by the American Antiquarian Society and the Winterthur Museum, Garden and Library, documenting the history and literature of childhood between the 1820s and 1920s. (Full-Text and Images).

Primary sources on of the history of North American trade and cultural exchange with China in the18th and 19th centuries; also covers China's economic dealings with the whole of East Asia and the Pacific. (Full-Text)

Pamphlets on China from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at Cornell University Library, covering the period 1750-1929. (Full-Text)

English-language primary sources from the collections of the School of Oriental and African Studies and the British Library, London, on Chinese history during the country's monumental social and political upheaval, with a focus on relations between China and the West. (Full-Text and Images)

Publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society, documenting missionary work from the19th to the 21st centuries. Subcollections include: Global Missions and Contemporary Encounters, 1804-2009; Medical Journals, Asian Missions and the Historical Record, 1816-1986. (Full-Text)

Primary sources from the archives of the British Colonial Office, covering early America, the Atlantic world, the Caribbean and the British Empire during the period 1606-1822. (Full-Text)

Primary sources from the archives of the British Colonial Office on the Caribbean and British colonial rule. Subcollections include: Settlement, Slavery, and Empire, 1624-1832; Colonial Government and Abolition, 1833-1849. (Full-Text)

Important papers generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices concerning Africa. (Full-Text)

Important papers generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices concerning Latin America.(Full-Text)

Important papers generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices concerning the Middle East. (Full-Text)

Important papers generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices concerning North America. (Full-Text)

Primary sources documenting political, religious, working, trading and administrative life in various regions of England from 1500-1700. Includes legal records, family correspondence, administrative records, wills, inventories, and commonplace books, and images of everyday objects used in early modern households. (Full-Text and Images)

Primary sources documents on the East India Company from the India Office Records held by the British Library. Subcollections include: Trade, Governance and Empire, 1600-1947; Factory Records for South Asia and South-East Asia, 1595-1830; Factory Records for China, Japan and the Middle East, 1596-1870; Correspondence: Early Voyages, Formation and Conflict; Correspondence: Domestic Life, Governance and Territorial Expansion. (Full-Text)

The John Larpent Collection of plays submitted for licence in London between 1737 and 1824, with contextual documentation. (Full-Text)

Periodicals published in England between 1685 and 1835. (Full-Text)

Audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study, including sites in West Africa, North America, South East Asia and more. (Full-Text, Images, Audio, and Video)

Primary sources revealing the voices and experiences of the men and women who served in the First World War, sourced from the Imperial War Museum, the National Archives, UK and more. Subcollections include: Personal Experiences; Propaganda and Recruitment; Visual Perspectives and Narratives; A Global Conflict. (Full-Text)

Primary source material documenting the history of food and drink from the 16th to the 21st centuries. (Full-Text)

British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Subcollections include: 1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International; 1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis; 1939-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory; 1949-1956: The Communist revolution; 1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward; 1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution. (Full-Text)

British Foreign Office files dealing with India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Subcollections include: 1947-1964: Independence, Partition and Nehru Era; 1965-1971: South Asian Conflicts and Independence for Bangladesh; 1972-1980: Afghanistan and the Cold War, Emergency Rule in India, and the Resumption of Civilian Rule in Pakistan. (Full-Text)

British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan during the first half of the twentieth century. Subcollections include: 1919-1930: Japan and Great Power Status; 1931-1945: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific; 1946-1952: Occupation of Japan. (Full-Text)

British Foreign Office files dealing with events in Southeast Asia from 1963-1980, including the creation of Malaysia and the response to this from the wider region. Subcollections include: Cold War in the Pacific, Trade Relations, and the Post-Independence Period, 1963-1966; Foundations of Economic Growth and Industrialization, 1967-1980. (Full-Text)

British Foreign Office files dealing with the Middle East. Subcollections include:1971-1974: The 1973 Arab-Israeli War and the Oil Crisis; 1975-1978: The Lebanese Civil War and the Camp David Accords; 1979-1981: The Iranian Revolution and the Iran-Iraq War. (Full-Text)

Primary sources documenting the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920, including the various colonial frontiers of North America as well as the settlers of Southern Africa, Australia, and New Zealand. (Full-Text)

Primary sources documenting developing gender roles and relations from the 19th century to the present, in the records of men's and women's organizations, advice literature, etiquette books, personal diaries, and correspondence. (Full-Text and Images)

Manuscript sources, rare books, maps, advertising memorabilia, paintings, photographs and ephemera documenting the histories of key commodities: Chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits. (Full-Text and Images)

Manuscript, visual and printed works documenting the history of English travel on the European continent from 1550-1850. (Full-Text and Images)

Manuscripts from the collections of the National Library of Scotland, documenting the history of South Asia between the time of the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947. (Full-Text)

Periodicals published in the UK and North America during the decades between World War I and World War II, covering arts and culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues, as well as writings of prominent literary figures. (Full-Text)

Documents from the J. Walter Thompson Company archive, including advertising account files for brands such as Kraft, Kodak, Oscar Mayer and Pan Am. (Full-Text)

Primary source documentation of the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the present, sourced from the American Jewish Historical Society. (Full-Text)

Primary source collections from multiple archives, including the records of Thomas Cook, documenting leisure travel and the growth of tourism for the masses in the 19th and 20th centuries. (Full-Text and Images)

Primary sources including journals, memoirs, ships logs and court records, documenting the individual experiences and personal narratives of seafarers over the period 1600-1900. (Full-Text)

Victorian manuscript holdings from the Berg Collection, including unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings. (Full-Text)

Manuscripts of 17th and 18th century poetry from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds. (Full-Text)

Rare books, ephemera, maps, and other materials relating to the underworld of 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. (Full-Text and Images)

Complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) (CAB 128) and memoranda (CAB 129) of Harold Macmillan's UK government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees (CAB 134). (Full-Text)

Complete collection of the market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the mid-20th century's foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. (Full-Text)

Complete archive of the Mass-Observation social research organization, founded with the aim of studying the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain. Covers the original Mass Observation project, mainly carried out from 1937 to the mid-1950s. (Full-Text and Images)

Archive of the Mass Observation Project, 1981-2009, documenting the everyday experiences, thoughts and opinions of individuals in Britain through their own writings. Includes all the directives (questionnaires) sent out by Mass Observation and the responses to them from Mass Observers. (Full-Text)

Primary sources documenting medical advances during conflicts from 1850-1949, including the Crimean War, the second Boer War, the American Civil War, the First World War and inter- and post-war periods. (Full-Text)

The Paston Family Papers, comprising records of private correspondence describing everyday life in East Anglia (England) during the Wars of the Roses. (Full-Text)

Medieval manuscripts describing travel, real and imaginary, in the Middle Ages. (Full-Text)

Diaries, journals and correspondence of Edward S. Morse (1838-1925), documenting life in Japan during the Meiji period. (Full-Text)

Primary sources documenting emigration from Great Britain, mainland Europe, and Asia to the New World and Australasia during the 19th and early 20th centuries. (Full-Text)

Archive of the John Murray publishing company, documenting 19th century literary culture. Includes the manuscripts and personal papers of Lord Byron. (Full-Text)

Printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video footage documenting changes in society during the period 1950-1965. (Full-Text, Images, and Video)

Advertisements, popular texts, and other primary source materials documenting popular medicine in 19th century North America. (Full-Text and Images)

Primary sources documenting the life of the poorest communities in Victorian Britain, as well as the social reform and philanthropic efforts of charitable institutions that sought to alleviate poverty. (Full-Text)

Speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by staff of the Race Relations Department based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, and by participants at its annual Institute, including Charles S. Johnson and Thurgood Marshall. (Full-Text)

Working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and other writers including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. (Full-Text and Images)

Wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world, including publications from the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. (Full-Text)

Primary source documents from prominent sex researchers and sexologists throughout the 20th century, including Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections. (Full-Text)

Prompt books from the collection of the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC, documenting performance practice in theatres in Great Britain, the United States and elsewhere between the 17th and 20th centuries. (Full-Text)

Archive of Shakespeares Globe, including architectural plans, costume designs, prompt books, and programmes. (Full-Text and Images)

Documentary, newsreel, and feature films by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers, from the early 20th century to the 1980s. Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI). (Streaming Video)

Primary sources on US history in the period from 1870-1920, including the personal and business papers of key industrialists; records of rail, steel and oil corporations; material on labour disputes, politics and progressivism; and visual content on fashion, material culture and architecture. (Full-Text and Images)

UK Foreign & Commonwealth Office files for the entire period of Richard Nixon's presidency, from 1969-1974. (Full-Text)

Primary sources documenting domestic life, leisure, and material culture in 19th and 20th century America. (Full-Text and Images)

Diaries and supporting correspondence written by women, describing international travels in the 19th and 20th centuries. (Full-Text)

Primary sources on popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe from 1779 to 1930. Subcollections include: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Slideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema. (Full-Text and Images)

Films from the late Victorian and Edwardian eras (1895-1913) sourced from the British Film Institutes Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection. (Streaming Video and Full-Text)

Papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624, covering the founding and economic development of Virginia as well as the economic history of London in the Early Modern era. (Full-Text)

Primary source material, including official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, documenting World's Fairs from the 19th to the 21st centuries. (Full-Text and Images)