TMFD 876 Material Culture Research Methods

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

Digital collections from the British Museum

David Rumsey’s Map Collection is a distinctive curation of rare 16tht o 21stcentury maps from around the world. In addition to maps, the collection also includes geographical artifacts-maritime charts, manuscript maps, school geographies and government documents.

A collection of images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States

A portal that allows users to Explore fashion - historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos - from museums and archives across Europe.

Consisting of about 100 images, the Pratt Institute Libraries' Fashion Plate Collection consists of hand-colored fashion plates from the French periodical La Gazette du Bon Ton and its American edition, La Gazette du Bon Genre. The plates date from 1914 to 1922.

A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.

This site contains all the digital images of the Getty Museum collections and the Getty Institute Digital Collections in addition to the images that are in the public domain. The museum’s collections consist European art works from the middle ages to early twentieth century, antiquities collected by J. Paul Getty that dates from sixth millennium BC, and the bronze age and drawings for a representative collection of Western European drawings between the fifteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.

This collection of historical magazines and books chronicles the history of broadcasting, film and sound recordings.

This NASA on The Commons Flicker account contains public domain images or images that have been placed in the public domain to allow for free access to historical NASA photographs.

This collection of videos from the Prelinger Archives began as an extensive collection of “Ephemeral” film and now contains 11,000 digitized videotape titles in addition to acquired home movies and amateur and industrial film.

Created in 2008, the Scottish Register of Tartans is a database of tartans intended to protect, promote and preserve tartan designs. Visitors may search the register, by tartan name or colors, to find information about thousands of tartans. They can also access information on resources in the National Records of Scotland for the study of tartan history.

VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA).

This collection of the late Henry Walters is an eclectic collection of art, textiles, furniture, arms and amour, jewelry, art manuscripts and other artifacts from around the world. Beginning with an inherited collection of European and Asian art, and gradually expanded to include items from Russia, ancient Africa, East Asia, the Mediterranean, the Middle East and the Americas.

Explore our online collections of selected images of rare books, trade catalogs, manuscripts, ephemera, and photographs related to the study of art, decorative arts and design, everyday life in America, and Winterthur's estate history.

This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods.

Extensive collection of primary sources for European History and links to other sites.