Subject and Course Guides: Sources for Advertising/Public Relations Research: Library Databases

Library Databases

Statista
Statistics, infographics, and datasets on many current topics. You can search by a particular target market group (e.g., Baby Boomers), a product (e.g., fast food) or by a characteristic (e.g., attitudes).

This is an example of a stat table from Statista that talks about the life ambitions of Gen Z members.

MRI-Simmons Insights
Consumer behavior database with graphical analysis tools, based on the Fall 2018 NHCS Adult Study (6- and 12-month) and Fall 2018 Simmons Connect Plus datasets. UNL’s subscription provides access to the Crosstab and Quick Report tools. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users.

This document tells you how to interpret a table in the MediaMark MRI+ database.

This document describes the PRIZM Premier segments, and this document groups the segments into Social Groups and Lifestage Groups.

WARC
Background information and research articles on consumers. Click on 'Topics' and the 'Consumer Research & Insight' tabs. 'What We Know' articles summarize big concepts.

This is an article from WARC about generational differences in media consumption--and this is the actual report on which the article is based. (It is always recommended that you track down the original source of a survey/study/report rather than simply relying on someone else's interpretation of it. . .)

Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
The U.S. Consumer and Lifestyles database is ideal for identifying the target market for a product or service, studying the demographics of a community,researching consumer demand for a new business,researching a community before opening a new business, and estimating the number of potential customers based on hobbies, interests, and other demographics.

ReferenceUSA table
This is a spreadsheet that looks at people who in Lincoln who score highly as having an interest in pets, compared by income and age.

Business Source Complete
This database contains articles from business-related journals and magazines, including a large number of trade or professional publications. These can be great sources of information on different aspects of consumers, such as values, attitudes, behaviors, etc.

This is an article from the BSC database that talks about the shopping habits of Generation Z.

Regional Business News
NOTE: The EBSCOhost platform will be migrating to a new interface on June 3, 2025. See a preview.
News articles from business publications in the United States and Canada. (Full-Text)