Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NLA College & University Section Fall Meeting: Fall 2020

Fall Meeting Program

 

Fall Meeting Program 

Friday, October 9, 2020

 

Time  Event
10:00-10:15am

Opening remarks

Jayne Germer, C&U Chair

Margaret Mering, TSRT Chair

 

10:15-11:00am

BREAKOUT SESSION 1

 

Creating Sustainable Online Learning Modules (It’s easier than you think.)

Katie Bishop, Director of Research &  Instruction Services, University of Nebraska Omaha

Monica Maher, Online Learning & Education Librarian, University of Nebraska Omaha

Heidi Blackburn, STEM and Business Librarian, University of Nebraska Omaha

Online learning tools that are established and user-friendly aid greatly in academic librarians’ mission to provide quality instruction to students, particularly during these uncertain times. At the University of Nebraska Omaha, librarians have partnered with teaching faculty to create sustainable and forward-facing online learning modules that replace in-person library and information literacy instruction. In this presentation, we will suggest tools and tips for shifting classroom instruction online, address obstacles in developing online content, and discuss practical ideas for audience members to consider when converting instruction to online modules.

 

Balancing Risk and Reward: Managing Demand-Driven Ebooks (Slides only) 

James Shaw, Collections Coordinator, University of Nebraska Omaha

The UNO Libraries' ebook collection now approaches 1,000,000 with a nearly 50-50 split between subscription and demand-driven access. Our goal is to offer as wide and deep a pool of ebooks as possible, but we must monitor demand-driven usage with great care to stay within budget. Subscription ebooks provide a known, largely fixed cost to balance against the variable costs of demand-driven usage.  We must also monitor for compromised user accounts, which sometimes add an element of mystery to the program. Overall, we consider our program successful in expanding library resources available to UNO, especially as the curriculum changes to include considerably more online instruction.

11:15am-noon

BREAKOUT SESSION 2

Information Literacy: Librarian-Faculty Collaboration

Passcode: CUfal!2020

Rochelle Reeves, Curriculum Librarian, University of Nebraska Kearney

Dr. Diane Duffin, Political Science, University of Nebraska Kearney

Dr. Jane Ziebarth-Bovill, Teacher Education, University of Nebraska Kearney

Have you ever tried helping a student with research only to discover that the library doesn’t have access to the resources the faculty requires?  Too often library assignments do not align with available library resources; however, if the librarian has the opportunity to work with the faculty, these assignments can be structured to give students a worthwhile experience.  Even though most of our students are digital natives, many come to college lacking the skills to navigate academic research.  Learn how one librarian and several faculty came together to create an assignment that brings the class to the library for two sessions, culminating in end-of-the-semester group presentations.

 

Share & Share Alike, or Differently: Sharing ILL Software Tips and Tricks

Passcode: p45!RXpL

Lynda Clause, ILL & Reference Staff Assistant, Nebraska Library Commission

Strategies to find help and share tips with other Interlibrary Loan software users. How do I track certain information when the software doesn’t give me the option? Why should I keep my contact info in the OCLC Policies Directory up to date? What parts of the process do I know like the back of my hand, and what’s still a mystery? Is there free mail tracking? How do other people use ILL software—can I help them, and can they help me?

Our intended audience is the library worker who uses any ILL software—like OCLC WorldShare, Tipasa, Clio, ILLiad. Since we all have to train ourselves as the software changes, let’s have a conversation about what works, what doesn’t, and how to make it work even when it doesn’t want to. And let’s figure out how to keep that conversation going, to keep helping each other.

12:15-12:45pm

BUSINESS MEETINGS (Bring your own lunch!)

C&U

Jayne Germer, Chair

 

TSRT

Margaret Mering, Chair

1:00-1:45pm

BREAKOUT SESSION 3          

Primary Source Instruction and Creative Projects (slides only) 

Amy Schindler, Director of Archives & Special Collections, University of Nebraska Omaha

Mary Ellen Ducey, University Archivist/Special Collections Librarian, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Laurinda Weisse, University Archivist, University of Nebraska Kearney

Archives and special collections repositories often prioritize supporting others’ teaching and learning at their institutions, but how archivists teach with primary sources continues to evolve and grow. In this panel archivists will discuss working with classes on a variety of projects that involved creativity from the archivists and resulted in creative projects. The presenters draw from varied projects including podcasts, documentary films, recreating historical photographs, zines, and writing about university history topics. Attendees will learn about creative uses and re-uses of primary sources for instruction sessions and activities.

 

Migrating to Ex Libris' Alma ILS from Early Stages to Post Migration 

Margaret Mering, Metadata Quality Librarian, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Angela Kroeger, Metadata Coordinator, University of Nebraska Omaha

Heather Buckwalter, Serials/Acquisitions Librarian, Creighton University Law Library

In 2016, Creighton Law Library migrated to Ex Libris’ Alma ILS. The four University of Nebraska campuses are in the early days of their migration to Alma. The presentations will include the successes and challenges of migrating to a new ILS. They will cover the seemingly endless number of cleanup projects in a consortium environment and a single campus environment pre- and post-migration. They will reflect on working from home during the COVID-19 pandemic using a hosted ILS, on migrating to a new ILS during the pandemic, adapting to a cloud-based ILS system, adjusting to a more hands-on system, and things that might have been done differently.

 

Dismantling the Knowledgeopoly: An Open Research Future | Slides 

Kate Ehrig-Page, Institutional Repository Coordinator, University of Nebraska Omaha

A library plays an integral part in the community because its doors are open to everyone. However, access to knowledge is often siloed and hidden behind subscriptions so that knowledge monopolies start to grow. In “Dismantling the Knowledgeopoly: An Open Research Future”, and in celebration of October’s Open Access Week that celebrates free, immediate access to peer-reviewed scholarship, we will look at ways you can broaden the scope of Open Access and move towards Open Research.

2:00-2:45pm

BREAKOUT SESSION 4

Documenting COVID-19: Gathering Materials at UNO and in Omaha

Lori Schwartz, Chuck Hagel Archivist, University of Nebraska Omaha

Claire Du Laney, Outreach Archivist, University of Nebraska Omaha

Carrie Meyer, Head of Special Collections & Archives, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Emma Sundberg, Curator, Durham Museum

 

We at UNO Archives & Special Collections knew that voices during the pandemic were at risk of being lost without a concerted collecting effort. What began as a project aimed at student workers soon expanded, and our goal became to gather a wide variety of materials from the Omaha community. Historically, the remembrances of everyday people haven't always been gathered carefully during times of crises. We wanted to avoid losing diverse voices, especially voices traditionally ignored in Archives and Special Collections. We will explain the organization of this project, engagement, presentation, and ongoing nature of this work as events continue to unfold.

 

Grownup Play: Libraries Supporting Adult Cognitive, Emotional and Physical Health

Melissa Cast-Breede, Associate Professor, University of Nebraska Omaha

Did you know that play is as important for adults as it is for children? This interactive program will demonstrate how play helps maintain adult brains, bodies, and spirits. Using the work of the National Institute of Play we will explore the seven patterns of play and how libraries around the country are presenting their communities opportunities for play. Participants will be able to explain the importance of play in adult development to library shareholders, and create methods for enriching play activities.

 

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com