Subject and Course Guides: CEAP_Introduction to Research: Home- Begin your Search Here

Search Databases

LIBRARY DATABASES
The Library provides access to hundreds of journals, magazines and other resources through its many databases.

Access all library databases through the page.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Free scanning and e-delivery of most articles and book chapters (compliments of University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries).
24 hour delivery of most items from University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries Locations.
Delivery time within 7 business days for most items from other libraries.
Pickup available at locations across both campuses.

Reference Resources

Credo Reference and the Gale Virtual Reference Library both include hundreds of reference works covering a wide range of topics. Try searching these reference collections first for your topic, they will give you a good overview of your topic. They can also help as you focus or narrow down your research topic .

Credo Reference
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and almanacs. (Full-Text)
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. (Full-Text)

Online Databases and Collections

Academic Search Premier
This database indexes a wide variety of scholarly material.
Tips for use: EBSCO resources give you the option to scroll down the page to where it says "Limit your results". Limits you may choose to impose include, but are not limited to: Full Text or Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals). On the middle of the "Limit your results" section on the left hand side you can limit by document types including "Article".
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages. Dates of coverage vary.
Ethnic Newswatch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press, including articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc.which provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Dates of coverage varies by source, currently covers 1975-present, and is growing back to 1960.
JSTOR
JSTOR Archive has digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, and over one million images, letters, and other primary sources. Full-text scholarly, peer-reviewed content.
Project Muse
Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Full text. Dates of coverage vary by journal.
Web of Science, 1900-
Consists of 3 searchable databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded), indexing 5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines covering 1955-Present. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), indexing 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines and selectively indexing relevant items from over 3,300 scientific and technical journals covering 1956-Present. And, Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), indexing 1,100 arts and humanities journals and selectively indexing relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journalscovering 1975-Present. Abstracts with links to full text that is available through other University of Nebraska-Lincoln databases.