Subject and Course Guides: Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering: Home

UNL Library Resources

The UNL Libraries provide tutorials for accessing and searching the major index databases. The Web of Science tutorial, as well as many "how to" tutorials are available at this link: Step-by-Step Tutorials - University Libraries' Virtual Learning Tutorials - Subject and Course Guides at University of Nebraska - Lincoln (libguides.com)

The link to SciFinder provides access to instructions for setting up and account as well as access to tutorials.

EI/Compendex
Compendex contains thousands of articles from U.S. and international engineering and technology journals, as well as conference papers and trade publications. Content is updated weekly and coverage spans 1970 to the present.
The following tutorial is an introduction to Compendex. For full screen viewing click the video and then click the diagonal arrows at the bottom of the video. Click the escape key to exit full screen.

Basic Compendex Tutorial

SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar provides access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Included are several chemical abstracts databases such as CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. You are able to search by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, chemical structure, formula, and CAS abstract number. Dates of coverage vary by material. In order to access SciFinder, you must be on campus and use your university email address to create the account. Once your account is created, you may access SciFinder from anywhere using the authenticated link on the Libraries’ website.
Web of Science
The Web of Science Core Collection is an excellent place to start your research. The Core Collection offers access to scholarly research in all areas of study. You are able to search by author, keywords, and cited references. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing a work, and measure the influence of someone's work. The following databases make up the Core Collection: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Indexes, Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. Dates of coverage vary by database.

On the Web