Skip to main content
OER Meta Finder
This is a search engine for open access textbooks and OER:
The sites listed below contain OERs that can be incorporated into your courses. This is not an exhaustive list and you are encouraged to look for sites that provide OERs for your disciplines.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
An imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc. Selected research publications in the humanities and social sciences are published on open content licenses, meaning that the full text is available online for free in html format. These titles are also available to buy as p-books and e-books.
Open textbooks and courses for top 25 college disciplines. Available in multiple formats for supporting browser or eReader access for low cost.
Carnegie Mellon Open Learning Initiative
An open educational resources (OER) project providing web-based courses based on a detailed, science-based understanding of how students learn.
Directory of Open Access Journals
An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Directory of Open Access Textbooks
Open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
Repository of OER resources for learning and online teaching.
Free online course materials.
National Institutes of Health-National Institute of General Medical Sciences
Free publications geared to high school and college students on topics including cell biology, genetics, chemistry, structural biology, computational biology and pharmacology.
Library of OERs.
Free textbooks developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable, accurate, and meet the scope and sequence requirements of your course.
Open Textbook Network
Promotes access, affordability, and student success through the use of open access textbooks.
Peer-reviewed library instructional materials.
Over 100 free openly licensed college level textbooks that have been peer reviewed. Many are available in PDF, Word, and HTML formats.