Subject and Course Guides: E-Books: Free eBooks

NCBI - LIFE SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

The National Center for Biotechnology Information's new acquisitions; free access books and documents in life science and healthcare.

INTECH - MEDICAL SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

New acquisitions to InTech collections. InTech is a multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.

IBM REDBOOKS - JUST PUBLISHED

"IBM Redbooks publications are developed and published by the IBM International Technical Support Organization (ITSO). The ITSO develops and delivers skills, technical know-how, and materials to IBM technical professionals, Business Partners, clients, and the marketplace in general."

MANYBOOKS - GENERAL SCIENCE

PROJECT GUTENBERG - NEW BOOKS

A Selection of Free EBooks Resources

E-book Indexes and Directories

Open Science LibGuide
By Kiyomi Deards. List of websites that offer free science eBooks for download and online reading.
E-Books Directory
"E-Books Directory is a free web resource which contains links to free downloadable e-books, technical papers, documents, as well as user contributed content, articles, reviews and comments. E-Books Directory is a service to students, researchers and e-book lovers. "
FreeComputerBooks.com
List of websites that offer eBooks for download and reading in the areas of computer technology.
Ultimate List to Download Free eBooks
List of free eBook sites.

General Textbook Collections

OpenStax CNX
Open Education site. Launched at Rice University in 1999. Books are written in "chunks or modules" by professors and other professionals. Instructors create individual courses from these modules or collections. The modules are then available for teaching and for public use.

Science, Computers, Technology, and Medicine

Flat World Knowledge
Publisher of online textbooks in the business, economics, sciences and social sciences. Books are free for online viewing or can be purchased through an open licence agreement for downloadable options and printing of class sets. Faculty have the ability to modify and create their own content for their students. Books are printed on demand, at the request of the faculty.
Free Technology Academy
"The Free Technology Academy (FTA) is a joint initiative of Free Knowledge Institute (FKI) - The Netherlands, Open Universiteit - The Netherlands, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, (UOC) - Spain and University of Agder (UiA) - Norway. Textbooks for their modules are available in PDF format for download and viewing. The modules range from an introduction to the main aspects of Free Software and Open Standards to more technical courses on software development or network technologies."
Free Books 4 Doctors
Free medical eBooks available for online viewing and download in PDF format.
FreeTechBooks
"This site lists free online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet."
IBM Redbooks
"IBM Redbooks publications are developed and published by the IBM International Technical Support Organization (ITSO). The ITSO develops and delivers skills, technical know-how, and materials to IBM technical professionals, Business Partners, clients, and the marketplace in general. Redbooks are created through the ITSO residency process and are generally published 30-90 days after residency completion."
InformIT Reference Library
"InformIT is home to the leading technology publishing imprints Addison-Wesley Professional, Cisco Press, IBM Press, Pearson IT Certification, Prentice Hall Professional, QUE, and Sams." Provides free access to computer reference Library and Reference Guides that are primers on key topics. viz. Java, C++ and many others. All documents are available for online reading in HTML format."
InTech
"InTech is a multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine. All texts are available in PDF format for downloading and reading "
Microsoft Press Ebooks
Free eBooks covering Microsoft applications, certifications, tools, technologies, & research, plus programming best practices. Available for download in PDF format.
National Academies Press
Free access to PDFs of reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Print copies may also be purchased.
NCBI Bookshelf
The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides access to a collection of books in life sciences and healthcare. Available for online reading only.
Redgate Books
SQL Server reference books and textbooks, some available for download in PDF format.
Saylor Academy
"Open collection of college level courses." Available for online reading only. All courses are written by professors, and students earn a certificate on completion of courses.

Literature

Bartleby.com
Wide range of reference books, classic verse, and literature titles that are out of copyright.
Complete Works of William Shakespeare
From MIT. Provides access to all of William Shakespeare's work in HTML format for online reading.
epubBooks.com
Classic literature and fiction titles in EPUB format for download and viewing on ereaders and tablets.
Feedbooks
Fiction and non-fiction books in the public domain. Available for download in ePUB format.
Internet Archive eBooks and Texts
Contains historical and academic texts, as well as many classical and children's books.
ManyBooks
"Manybooks was established in 2004 with the vision to provide an extensive library of books in digital format for free on the Internet. Many of the early eBooks are from the Project Gutenberg archives, which means you will be able to find a lot of classics on the site."
Open Library
A large collection of classic literature in the public domain. Provides downloads in formats for a variety of e-readers.
Planet eBook
Over 80 classic books to read online or as PDF downloads.
Project Gutenberg
Largest collection of fiction and non-fiction books in the public domain.

Social Sciences

Documenting the American South
"Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fifteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." Some books are also available as "Print on Demand" publications.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
"The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. " Books are available in HTML format for online viewing. Topics include African History, Eastern Asian History, Global History, Indian History, Islamic History, Jewish History, Lesbian/Gay History, Science History, and Women's History.
Smithsonian Digital Library
Read digitized books from the Smithsonian's collection. "Most books available here are in the Public Domain unless otherwise noted, and are therefore free to download, use, re-use, and re-mix without regard to copyright."
University of Chicago Press Free Ebooks
Download a new free ebook every month from the University of Chicago Press.

Libraries, Museums, and Archives

Getty Research Institute Digital Books
Electronic publications that promote best practices for managing information in libraries, archives, and museums. Available for online reading only.