Acquisitions lists
This is the "Home" page of the "Music Research guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music Research guide  

A guide to the music resources at the University of Nebraska--Lincoln
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://unl.libguides.com/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Encore

Encore Search:

Encore is a keyword search for books, images, journal articles and more. See also Classic Catalog .

 

Use Databases & Services

E-Resources See all article indexes and other resources

ILLiad Use Interlibrary Loan and document delivery

Refworks Set up citation tracking and formatting

UNL Faculty: Request custom Subject and Course Guides; link Guides to Blackboard; arrange instruction.  Contact your Subject Librarian

 

Ask Us

 

Welcome to the Resources in Music guide

A guide to the music resources at the University of Nebraska--Lincoln Libraries. 

Check out our web page:

Streaming audio

The Libraries subscribe to the following streaming audio services.  If you are affiliated with UNL, click on these links to listen to music from your computer.

  • Naxos Music Library
    Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000+tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
  • Music Online: Listening
    An online listening resource that cross-searches Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, American Song, and Contemporary World Music.
  • Classical Music Library
    Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of recordings for listening and learning in libraries. Coverage of repertoire is increasing as new labels are added (currently over 32 labels-- Territory restrictions apply outside the US and Europe), with a particular focus on contemporary music and women composers.
  • Jazz Music Library
    An online listening collection of thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Labels include Verve, GRP Records, Fantasy, Concord Jazz, Impulse, Jazzology, and many others.
  • American Song
    An eclectic collection of music for online listening from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life. The songs touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. The range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
  • Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
    A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions for online listening. The collection includes an array of more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds.
  • Contemporary World Music
    A collection for online listening that takes listeners around the globe. The collection incorporates contemporary reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres. Traditional music such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku is also featured.
  • Performances from the UNL School of Music
    A collection of archival performances from the UNL School of Music. Includes programs and selected streaming audio.

Streaming video

The Libraries subscribe to the following streaming video services.  If you are affiliated with UNL, click on these links to watch from your computer.

  • Opera in video
    Opera in video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.
  • Dance in video
    Dance in video is a searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Indexes to periodical literature in music

To find articles in journals, try a search in one or both of our music periodical indexes, Music Index or RILM. To cast a wider net, try Google Scholar.

  • Music Index
    Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature from 1972 to present. It contains indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 470 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List.
  • RILM
    RILM, a comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, performers, teachers, and music lovers. RILM includes over 570,000 records, and over 33,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources and reviews.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Online reference sources in music


  • Grove Music Online
    Grove Music Online is provided by Oxford Music Online. It includes the full text with ongoing updates of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. This same link can also take you to the The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
  • Online Resources for Music Scholars
    A guide from Harvard collects links on a wide variety of topics in music. Links include archival collections, online scores and recordings, article indexes, discographies, bibliographies, scholarly societies, musical reference works, and a miscellany of useful websites.
  • DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals (in music)
    The music subject area of the DOAJ currently lists and has links to over forty music journals that are available freely online.

Tutorials and other help

Below are listed some tutorials that may be of use to you.  Caution: Some tutorials are from other institutions and may include information specific to that institution.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip