These are the core descriptive metadata elements used in ArchivesSpace -- the archival collections management system (ACMS) -- and other tools used by Archives and Special Collections. Not all possible elements are listed since the metadata schemes and standards may vary depending on the level of description. All element definitions are based on those provided by Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (DCMI). For a key or explanation of the table components, refer to the “Core Elements” tab.
Collection | Contributor/Collector | Creator/Photographer | Date | Description | Identifier | Language | Location | Medium/type | OrigItemNo. | RG#MS# | Rights | Size | Subject | Title
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
Yes |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
A related resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
The name or title of the broader collection that a specific resource is associated with. Values are constructed using Describing Archives: A Content Standard (DACS). |
|
Examples |
James M. Reinhardt, Sociology Papers Course Descriptions, English Department Records Departmental Minutes, Committees, History Department Records |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:isPartOf marc:440, 490, 800, 810, 811, 830 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
No |
|
Repeatable |
Yes |
|
Definition |
An entity responsible for making contributions to the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Provide name(s) of person, family, or corporate body responsible for making the resource. Prefer authorized form from a controlled vocabulary such as:
When no authorized form for a person is available, provide fullest name possible as follows: [Last Name], [First Name] [Middle Initial]., [Suffix], [Year of birth]-[Year of death] |
|
Examples |
Johnson, Herbert R. Cather, Willa, 1873-1947 Nebraska Art Association Espy, Kimberly Andrews Hardin, Clifford M. (Clifford Morris), 1915- |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:contributor marc:100, 110, 111, 700, 710, 711 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
If applicable |
|
Repeatable |
Yes |
|
Definition |
An entity primarily responsible for making the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Provide name(s) of person, family, or corporate body responsible for contributing to the resource. Prefer authorized form from a controlled vocabulary such as:
When no authorized form for a person is available, provide fullest name possible as follows: [Last Name], [First Name] [Middle Initial]., [Suffix], [Year of birth]-[Year of death] |
|
Examples |
Johnson, Herbert R. Cather, Willa, 1873-1947 Nebraska Art Association Espy, Kimberly Andrews Hardin, Clifford M. (Clifford Morris), 1915- |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:creator marc:100, 110, 700, 710 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
Yes |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
A point or period of time associated with an event in the lifecycle of the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Prefer Extended Date/Time Format (EDTF) 1.0 (ISO 8601). Often used to identify the creation date of the resource. Use approximate date or range when exact date is not known. “Undated” is used for items that do not have a date. |
|
Examples |
2018-08-01 1955-04/1955-05 Undated 1901 |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:date marc:260 $c, 264 $c |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
Yes |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
An descriptive, free-text account of the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Use as a free text field to describe the resource. Using different language than the title element is preferred. |
|
Examples |
Quilt blocks or pieces, Mary's Fan, Brackman 3328. Digitized video (without audio) of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Marching Band in the 1949-1950 academic year. |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:description marc:500-599, except 506, 530, 540, 546 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
Yes |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
An unambiguous reference to the resource within a given context (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
This field uses a string of alphanumerical characters created using local practices. Values are created according to the collection number (e.g., MS213 would be "213", or RG13-10-01 would be "131001"), which is then followed by a unique number in five digits to represent the single object/resource. |
|
Examples |
237-01410 |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:identifier marc:020$a, 022$a, 024$a |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
If applicable |
|
Repeatable |
Yes |
|
Definition |
A language of the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Used to identify any language(s) that are present in the resource. Prefer authorized form from a controlled vocabulary such as ISO 639-2. |
|
Examples |
Eng Cze Fre |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:language marc:008/35-37 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
No |
|
Repeatable |
Yes |
|
Definition |
Spatial characteristics of the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Used to describe a site or location, such as a city, or geographic coordinates. Prefer authorized form from a controlled vocabulary such as LCSH or TGN. |
|
Examples |
Lincoln (Neb.) |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:spatial marc:255, 034 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
No |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
The file format, physical medium, or dimensions of the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Used to identify the original carrier or type of object. Prefer authorized form from a controlled vocabulary such as MIME types defined by RFC2046. Locally-defined values are acceptable. |
|
Examples |
black/white negative audio cassette |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:formatMedium marc:340$a |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
If applicable |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
A related resource that is substantially the same as the described resource, but in another format (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Used for any pre-existing identifier that may have been provided by the original creator or collecting unit of a collection. Note: the conventions of this element have no correlation to the Identifier element described above. |
|
Examples |
C-10.641-1 |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:isFormatOf marc:530 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
Yes |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
A related resource from which the described resource is derived (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Used for the collection-level identifier that the resource is derived from. |
|
Examples |
RG12-22-10 |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:source marc:534$t |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
Yes |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
Information about rights held in and over the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Used for a statement about the property rights of the resource or who to contact about rights-related information. |
|
Examples |
For copyright information, please contact the repository. |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:rights marc:506, 540 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
No |
|
Repeatable |
Yes |
|
Definition |
The size or duration of the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
This field is often used for describing the dimensions of a photographic print. Other uses can include the duration of a digitized audio or audiovisual resource or the file size of a born-digital resource. |
|
Examples |
10.1 x 12.41 cm 1 hr., 1 min., 18 sec. 21.9 MB |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:extent marc:300$a |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
No |
|
Repeatable |
Yes |
|
Definition |
The topic of the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
Used for brief classification descriptors or keywords that represent the resource. Prefer authorized form from a controlled vocabulary such as LCSH. Locally-defined values are acceptable. |
|
Examples |
Military, Band, R.O.T.C. Cadet |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:subject marc:050, 060, 080, 082 |
|
Label |
|
|
Required |
Yes |
|
Repeatable |
No |
|
Definition |
A name given to the resource (DCMI). |
|
Usage |
An abbreviated description of the object. Any identifiable title provided on resource is preferred. |
|
Examples |
Nebraska quilt 251, 252, 253, 254 Prisoner cartoon Memorial Stadium dedication ceremony |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:title marc:245, 246 |