These are the core elements required for all repositories. Each repository will have a different application profile, but these elements are considered universal elements for descriptive metadata at UNL Libraries.
Creator/Author | Date | Identifier | Title
|
Label |
Authors (Digital Commons) (Varies in Archives & Image/Multimedia Collections) |
|||
|
Required |
If applicable |
|||
|
Repeatable |
Yes |
|||
|
|
Archives |
Data Repository |
Digital Commons |
Image & Multimedia Collection |
|
Definition |
An entity primarily responsible for making the resource. |
Person/people responsible for creating the dataset. |
Person/people responsible for writing/creating the publication or resource. |
None provided. |
|
Usage |
Typically, this element is used to describe a person, organization, or service that created the object. |
Depositor-supplied. |
Personal or Corporate Authors; includes Author's institution and email address when available; recorded as found on piece. |
Names of creators (photographer, author, etc.).
Library of Congress Name Authority File (LCNAF), Getty Union List of Artist Names (ULAN). |
|
Examples |
Johnson, Herbert R. Cather, Willa, 1873-1947 Nebraska Art Association |
Weber, K.A., & Nolan, J. Espy, Kimberly Andrews |
(mmering1@unl.edu) Margaret Mering, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
|
Hardin, Clifford M. (Clifford Morris), 1915- |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:creator marc:100, 110, 700, 710 |
|||
|
|
||||
|
Label |
Date of Version (Digital Commons) (Varies in Image & Multimedia Collections) |
|||
|
Required |
If applicable |
|||
|
Repeatable |
No |
|||
|
|
Archives |
Data Repository |
Digital Commons |
Image & Multimedia Collection |
|
Definition |
A point or period of time associated with an event in the lifecycle of the resource. |
N/A
|
Date found on publication; Date of original creation. |
None provided |
|
Usage |
ISO 8601 (not always in practice, however). |
N/A |
It may be a month and year, or just a year or a full date may be available. |
ISO 8601 (not always in practice, however). Date of creation or publication most common. |
|
Examples |
undated 2018-03-01 1954 1954-03/1954-04 |
N/A |
Month: May Day: 24 Year: 2108
|
2018-03-01 1954 1954-03/1954-04 |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:date marc:260 $c, 264 $c |
|||
|
Label |
ORCID iDs (Digital Commons) (Varies in Image & Multimedia Collections) |
|||
|
Required |
If applicable |
|||
|
Repeatable |
No |
|||
|
|
Archives |
Data Repository |
Digital Commons |
Image & Multimedia Collections |
|
Definition |
An unambiguous reference to the resource within a given context. |
A unique reference to the data; A persistent digital identifier for researchers. |
Identifier for researchers. |
None provided |
|
Usage |
Local standards. The identifier is created by using the collection number (e.g., MS213 or RG13-10-01), and then adding a unique number in five digits as an extension onto the collection number. |
DOI supplied by UNLDR. ORCID supplied by depositor. |
Primarily used for UNL authors. Used for other authors when listed on publication. Used to help distinguish like author names. |
Possible identifiers are unique, identifying, or accession numbers generated by the original repository. |
|
Examples |
237-01410 130815-00003 421201-01406 |
doi:10.13014/K2154F00 doi:10.13014/K2WD3XH9 |
|
2008.000.073 283-00099 |
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:identifier marc (authority):024 marc:020 (isbn), 022 (issn), 024 (doi), 028 (publisher number) |
|||
|
Label |
(Varies in Image & Multimedia Collections) |
|||
|
Required |
Yes |
|||
|
Repeatable |
No |
|||
|
|
Archives |
Data Repository |
Digital Commons |
Image & Multimedia Collections |
|
Definition |
A name given to the resource |
Name given to the dataset |
Title of publication, resource, etc. assigned by author. |
None provided |
|
Usage |
An abbreviated description of the object. Any identifiable title provided on resource is preferred. |
Depositor-supplied. |
Use headline-style capitalization (caps and lowercase). If anything needs to be italicized, put the html codes <i> and </i> around it. The <sub></sub> and <sup></sup> codes may also be used. |
Title of item, if needed devise a short description of the item |
|
Examples |
Nebraska quilt 251, 252, 253, 254 |
Unrecorded alcohol use in 3 provinces of China |
Ice Ice Baby: Are Librarian Stereotypes Freezing Us Out of Instruction?
|
|
|
Crosswalk (Schema mapping) |
dc:title marc:130, 245 |
|||