Skip to main content
Clips & Films
American Memory Collection
Audio, video, and images including maps. Digitized collections from the Library of Congress and other institutions focused on American history and culture.
BBC Open News Archive
Free access to some of the top news stories of the past 50 years. Downloadable. You are encouraged to view them and use them creatively.
Behind the Headlines
Dr Carin Bonder examines the science "Behind the Headlines".
"... scientific videos directly from the researchers themselves. Scientists take you into the heart of their lab, invite you to fascinating lectures, and share their findings with you in person."
"Learn more about CERN through the catalogue of selected videos, and explore the many facets of the laboratory from people to research."
Doctor Mad Science
Short and educational science videos by Jordan, a 10 year old currently in the 5th grade.
"Simple Easy Kids Experiments done at home using basic household products."
Earth Touch News Network
This site features video series ranging on topics from sexual selection in the animal kingdom, to wild life documentaries.
Beta version. Video archive of mainly TV programs. Google aims to "organize the world's information". Focus is on news and documenteries.
In Search of Giants – (Courtesy of the UK Science and Technology Facilities Council.)
"Dr Brian Cox takes us on a journey through the history of particle physics." (A 15 part series, each part is about 2-5 minutes on a single topic allowing them to be viewed together or separately).
Internet Archive Movies
Includes collections of classic public domain feature films, shorts and cartoons. Downloadable. The Internet Archive is building a digital library of internet sites on a wide variety of topics. Their motto is "universal access to human knowledge".
Joanne Loves Science
Joanne Manaster's science video YouTube channel. Joanne is a Faculty Lecturer and Online Course Developer at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Her videos cover a wide range of science topics.
"Simply put: cool physics and other sweet science.
"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough." ~Rutherford via Einstein? (wikiquote)"
NASA Langley Research Center - Multimedia Repository
Images and historical film documenting NASA research . Downloadable.
"NASA Television is actually three accessible digital channels:"
"NASA Public, transmitting in HD, features coverage of NASA missions and events, plus documentaries, archival and other special programming. This is the "NASA TV" most often carried by cable and satellite service providers."
"NASA Education provides programming to schools, educational institutions and science museums."
"NASA Media provides coverage in HD of news conferences and relevant video and audio materials to national and international news-gathering organizations."
"Note: NASA TV channels may not always have programming on every channel simultaneously. "
Videos about a variety of science and engineering topics created by NASA.
A series of free educational videos on topics ranging from the Summer Olympics to the Titanic to Chemistry and more!
Physics Central Vodcasts Archive
An ongoing series of videos about a variety of physics concepts and education.
Science360 - The Knowledge Network
"Science360 Knowledge Network immerses visitors in the latest wonders of science, engineering, technology and math. We gather the latest science videos provided by scientists, colleges and universities, science and engineering centers, the National Science Foundation and more. Each video is embeddable to put on your own personal websites, blogs and social networking pages. Science360 engages the general public, science junkies and students alike in the cutting-edge discoveries and big science stories of the day." "Sponsored by the National Science Foundation, Science360 is an up-to-date view of breaking science from around the world."
TED-Ed ~ Lessons Worth Sharing
"TED-Ed's videos aim to capture and amplify the voices of the world's greatest educators. To achieve this, we pair extraordinary educators with talented animators to produce a new library of exceptional educational videos."
The Science and Technology Facilities Council Channel
"STFC makes strategic investments to support world leading science and technology for the UK. These investments include large scientific facilities used across the research base. Our vision is to maximize the impact of our knowledge, skills, facilities and resources for the benefit of the United Kingdom and its people"
Vi Hart's YouTube Chanel
Explaining the world through math and art in short clips ranging from a minute to ten minutes.