Skip to main content

Plagiarism & Citation: SafeAssign & Turnitin

SafeAssign vs. Turnitin

You may choose to use SafeAssign, Turnitin, or both!

Click here to sign up.

 

SafeAssign

Turnitin

How do I access the software?

Blackboard

Canvas

Where does the software come from?

SafeAssign is a Blackboard feature that has been used at University of Nebraska-Lincoln since 2005.

Turnitin is new to University of Nebraska-Lincoln, but it has been used by colleges and universities since 1997.

What sources are checked?

Selected publicly available websites; the ProQuest ABI/Inform database; University of Nebraska-Lincoln institutional document archive (papers previously submitted to SafeAssign from University of Nebraska-Lincoln); Global Reference Database (papers previously submitted to SafeAssign from other institutions)

60 billion web pages; 600 million student papers that have been submitted to the Turnitin database; over 100 million articles from professional journals, periodicals, and publications

How are matching sources shown?

Potential matching text is numbered, highlighted and color-coded by the source it came from. You can click on the highlighted text to compare text from the matching source.

Potential matching text is numbered, highlighted and color-coded by the source it came from. You can click on the highlighted text to compare text from the matching source.

What is the interface like?

Strips out formatting; shows only one source per instance of matching text.

Keeps original formatting; lists multiple sources per instance of matching (if found); provides options to exclude bibliography, material within quotation marks, or small matches.

How long does it take to generate a report?

Anywhere from a few minutes to a few hours, depending on how busy the software is.

Anywhere from 15 minutes to 24 hours, depending on how busy the software is.

Where can I submit a draft?

Go to “Library SafeAssign Service” course in Blackboard.

Go to “Libraries Turnitin Service” course in Canvas.

What file types are supported?

SafeAssign accepts .doc, docx, .pdf, .ppt, .pptx, .html, .odt, .txt, and .rtf files.

 

Turnitin accepts .doc, docx, .pdf, .rtf, .ppt, .pptx, .pps, .ps, .txt, .html, .hwp, and .wpd files.

 

Can I submit more than one draft at once?

SafeAssign will allow you to submit multiple “attempts,” which you can go back and view.

Turnitin overwrites your draft each time you submit a new one, so you can view only one originality report at a time.

Does the software save my paper?

No, if you use SafeAssign through University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries, your paper remains in “draft mode” and is not stored in the SafeAssign database. Papers submitted to SafeAssign as part of a class may be stored, depending on the settings your instructor has chosen.

No, if you use Turnitin through University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries, your paper remains in “draft mode” and is not stored in the Turnitin database. Papers submitted to Turntin as part of a class may be stored, depending on the settings your instructor has chosen.

 

 

What is SafeAssign?

SafeAssign (formerly called Safe Assignment), a feature of Blackboard, can help you check the originality of your work before you submit it to your professor.

The software uses text-matching to identify assignment content that appears to be quoted or paraphrased from Internet resources, "paper mills," commercial databases, or previously submitted University of Nebraska-Lincoln student work. When a draft is submitted, SafeAssign generates an Originality Report on the assignment. Portions of text that match other sources are highlighted with a link to the original source for comparison.

If your professor has chosen to use SafeAssign in his or her courses, you will learn about it in class.

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries has set up the Libraries' SafeAssign service for students to submit drafts of assignments. It is used as a tool for teaching about plagiarism and ensure students that they have properly credited the work of others before submitting their assignments to a professor. 

The first time you want to submit a draft to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries for review against SafeAssign:

1. Fill out this form or contact the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries at ask-a-question@unl.edu to request to be added to the Blackboard SafeAssign course.

2. A librarian will add you to the course and send you further instructions on using the service. You will have access to SafeAssign as long as you have access to Blackboard.

What is Turnitin?

Turnitin: 

  • Is a text-matching tool
  • Checks electronically submitted papers against over 60 billion web pages, 600 million student papers, and 130 million academic journal articles
  • Provides an originality report in which matching text is underlined, color coded, and linked to the original source
  • Is used to encourage and educate students about the importance of academic integrity

Access to Turnitin is available through Canvas. 

The first time you want to submit a draft to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries for review against Turnitin:

1. Fill out this form or contact the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries at ask-a-question@unl.edu to request to be added to the Canvas Turnitin course.

2. A librarian will add you to the course and send you further instructions on using the service. You will have access to Turnitin as long as you have access to Canvas.

Test Your Knowledge

Once I cite a source, I need to keep citing the source throughout my paper whenever I use words and ideas from that source.

True
False

Contact Us

ASKus: 402-472-9568

UNL  Libraries
318 Love Library
P.O. Box 884100
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68588-4100

(This address is located at 13th & R Streets in Lincoln, Nebraska.)

Related Links

Parking & Transit Services
University of Nebraska Foundation

About UNL

© 2016 University of Nebraska–Lincoln | Lincoln, NE 68588 | 402-472-7211 | About UNL
UNL is an equal opportunity employer with a comprehensive plan for diversity. Find out more: employment.unl.edu
UNL Home
CIC Website
Big Ten Website