Skip to main content

Grants & Foundations: Home

Using the Databases

Candid provides two databases for grant seekers. Love Library makes both databases available to the public from the library website. Access is free but limited to the Love Library building.   

  • Foundation Directory Online (FDO) is the only comprehensive, database of the nearly 100,000 private foundations, corporate foundations, corporate giving programs, community foundations, and grant making public charities in the United States. The detailed, fully searchable records allow grant seekers to identify foundations most likely to fund their grant proposals..
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals is a subset of FDO that covers only those foundations that offer grants to individuals. These include grants for research, education, and creative projects.

Love Library is a Network Site in the Funding information Network

Candid, the new name for a merger between Foundation Center and GuideStar, is a public website which provides excellent source of information for grant seekers. A paid service, it provides access to foundation web sites, 990-PF tax returns of private foundations, and government grant programs, as well as offering free tutorials, webinars and videos on foundation research and grant writing.

FC Funding Information Network

The Foundation Center is supported by a Funding Information Network of Network Sites in libraries and other nonprofit agencies in all 50 states. These agencies have core collections of Candid publications and a variety of supplementary materials and services. The CCs can help you:

  • Find resources on starting a nonprofit organization
  • Learn the basics of grant seeking
  • Learn about grant proposals and proposal writing
  • Find detailed profiles of foundations and corporate givers
  • Explore topics related to philanthropy, volunteerism and fundraising

Network Site at University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Love Library at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln is a Network Site, serving the citizens of Nebraska and the region. The Libraries provides access to two Candid databases: Foundation Directory Online Professional (Organizations) and Foundation Grants to Individuals.

 

To schedule individual or group training, contact the Point of Contact for the Network Site, Toni Anaya, at tanaya2@unl.edu or (402) 472-4199.

Subject Guide

Toni Anaya's picture
Toni Anaya

Proposal Writing

Tutorials and webinars on writing grant proposals are available on the Foundation Center public website and from the Purdue Online Writing Lab Introduction to Grant Writing

Unfortunately, library staff are not able to help with the preparation of proposals. While we cannot refer people to grant writers, the Grant Professionals Association maintains a list of local freelancers which is available free of charge.

Grant Professional Association Consultant Directory

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com