Skip to main content

Government Documents: Information for Selective Libraries: Nebraska Five-Year Plan for the FDLP

Nebraska State Plan for the Federal Depository Library Program

INTRODUCTION

The Depository Library Council to the Public Printer, in 1981, proposed the creation of state plans for the coordination of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) within each state, and this suggestion was supported and encouraged by the Superintendent of Documents. Since that time, several states have created plans as part of their responsibilities within the national Program.

THE LIBRARIES OF NEBRASKA'S FEDERAL DEPOSITORY LIBRARY PROGRAM

The Regional Depository for Nebraska is located at the Love Library at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

The fourteen Selective Depositories are located at Creighton University and at the Creighton University School of Law in Omaha; at Dana College in Blair; at Doane University in Crete; at Little Priest Tribal College in Winnebago; at Midland Lutheran College in Fremont; at the Nebraska Library Commission and at the Nebraska State Library in Lincoln; at the Omaha Public Library; at the Scottsbluff Public Library; at the University of Nebraska in Kearney; at the University of Nebraska College of Law in Lincoln; at the University of Nebraska in Omaha; and at Wayne State College in Wayne.

For information about these depositories, consult the Nebraska Library Commission's Nebraska Federal Depository Libraries and Staff directory.

The State Plan will be reviewed every five years, or more often if needed. The Regional Depository Librarian and staff welcome your comments.

The fifteen Nebraska libraries in the Program wish to acknowledge the courtesy shown, and the help offered, by John B. Phillips of the Oklahoma State University in response to our questions regarding State Plans.

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT AND RESOURCE SHARING

Goal:
To ensure that a complete body of federal information is accessible to all residents of Nebraska through the acquisition and development of current and retrospective collections in all applicable formats.

Objectives:
Each Depository library will accept the responsibility to:

  • Maintain the Basic Collection and the Core Collection. These may be accessed through the respective Web sites:
  • Acquire, in addition to the Core Collection, those additional documents that are appropriate for the goals and objectives of the library and which meet the needs of its Congressional District, the local clientele, and non-depository libraries in its area.
  • Formulate a written collection development policy as a component of the overall library collection and development policy.
  • Participate in cooperative agreements or selective housing arrangements, when appropriate.
  • Consider item selections and weeding/disposal decisions on a continuing basis.
  • Recommend for acquisition commercially produced tools that would improve access to the federal information collection.

The Regional Depository will, in addition, accept the responsibility to:

  • Coordinate disposal of documents by Selective Depositories in the state.
  • Ensure that retrospective documents not widely held will be identified and retained in state.
  • Fill gaps in the Regional's retrospective documents collection, whenever possible.
  • Support the mandate of the Regional Depository Act of 1962 by maintaining - either in paper, microform, or tangible electronic products - a complete collection of all federal documents distributed through the Depository Program.
  • Acquire commercially produced and non-depository publications that would improve access to the federal information collection.

BIBLIOGRAPHIC CONTROL

Goal:
To provide a level of bibliographic access to federal information that will enable users to identify and retrieve government publications with the least possible expenditure of individual time and effort.

Objectives:

Each Depository library will accept the responsibility to:

  • Maintain an up-to-date record of its depository acquisitions that indicates the physical location of each document.
  • Provide bibliographic control for documents that is equal to that of other comparable library materials. Inclusion of documents in the public catalog is encouraged.
  • Build and maintain a core print and/or online reference collection of depository and commercial catalogs, indexes, and directories sufficient to meet local user needs.

The Regional Depository will, in addition, accept the responsibility to:

  • Provide current awareness material to the depository community.

ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

Goal:
To ensure access to electronic government information and products.

Objectives:
Each Depository library will accept the responsibility to:

  • Comply with the minimum technical guidelines set by the U.S. Government Printing Office.
  • Provide knowledgeable staff to assist patrons in the use of electronic information.

The Regional Depository will, in addition, accept the responsibility to:

  • Sponsor at least annually a meeting of the Nebraska federal depository libraries to discuss and review new products and developments in the area of electronic data.
  • Provide assistance to Selective Depositories in accessing electronic information and guidance in moving toward a predominately electronic depository system.
  • Maintain a homepage that will provide links to federal agency sites and resources that support the depository program.
  • Maintain an online catalog that will provide URLs for government material available via the Internet.
  • Encourage Selective Depositories to develop their own documents Web site.

QUALITY OF SERVICE

Goal:
To insure free public access and the highest quality service for accessing federal government information.

Objectives:
Each Depository library will accept the responsibility to:

  • Provide access to its federal documents.
  • Encourage and support its staff members to improve their knowledge of federal government information by attending workshops and seminars.
  • Provide appropriate equipment for accessing or using federal information.
  • Provide adequate space and equipment to house the documents collection in all formats in a manner that will best facilitate public access and use.
  • Ensure that access to the documents collection is in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.
  • Provide an adequate number of trained staff to ensure a level of reference and/or lending service equal to that provided for the rest of the library collection.

The Regional Depository will, in addition, accept the responsibility to:

  • Encourage communications between the Regional Depository and other depositories by means such as telephone, faxes, and computer links.
  • Provide duplication service, both for interlibrary loan and for replacement of lost or damaged materials.
  • Sponsor at least annually workshops and seminars that address the training and continuing education requirements of depository librarians and other interested persons.
  • Provide help and training for librarians newly assigned to administer depository collections.
  • Provide consultative services to depository libraries, and participate in inspection visits conducted by the Library Programs Service of U.S. Government Printing Office.

PUBLIC RELATIONS

Goal:
To increase public awareness of the availability and usefulness of federal government information.

Objectives:
Each Depository library will accept the responsibility to:

  • Make use of available marketing/public relations tools and techniques to acquaint users in the community and the Congressional district of the value of its federal depository holdings by means of new document displays, user guides, posters, newsletters, news releases, catalogs, brochures, bibliographies, and Web pages.
  • Encourage use of federal government information by training staff and patrons through workshops, Web sites, and participation in professional meetings.

The Regional Depository will, in addition, accept the responsibility to:

  • Support the efforts of Selective Depositories to increase the public's knowledge of documents and services available through the Federal Depository Library Program.
  • Do statewide marketing.
University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries
Hours of Operation | Parking Maps | Employment | Support the Libraries
318 Love Library | 13th & R | Lincoln, NE | (402) 472-9568
 @UNLLibraries |  @UNL_Lib |  @unl_lib |  unllibraries.blogspot.com