Subject and Course Guides: Environmental & Water Resources Engineering: Home

UNL Libraries' Tools

Services provide by the Libraries:

Connect to University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries Online

Access Databases from Off-campus
- Students, faculty and staff, use your UNL login credentials.
- All others contact ASKus for assistance.

The ASKSU service provides research assistance whenever the Engineering Librarian is unavailable. You may email call, text, or chat for assistance.

Chatbox-chat with a librarian

If you do not yet have an ILL account, please register. If there is a book or article unavailable from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln collections, ILL will either borrow the book or provide an electronic copy of the article. This service permits access to nearly all research material domestically and worldwide. The service also works internally. If you need a book or article from Love or a branch library, you may request via ILL and the article will be delivered electronically and the book delivered to the Engineering Library.

Citation Managers

The Libraries supports RefWorks but there are several good sources to capture and organize your research citations. This Libraries page https://libraries.unl.edu/citation-plagiarism-tools explains the basics of RefWorks, Mendeley, Zotero, and EndNote. The page also lists the contact information for the Libraries' experts on each resource. These experts can help you in working with the different citation manageers.

Journal and Report indexes

Subject Specific Databases:

List of databases by subject area:

Biological Sciences and Biochemistry

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering

Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Engineering

Related Library Guides:

Chemistry

Natural Resources

Water Resources

Non-Specialized Databases which Index Environmental Engineering Material:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. (Full-Text and Abstracts)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all subject areas. Some articles are available in full-text through links to UNL's journal subscriptions. (Index)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, books, and primary sources from many disciplines. Contains complete back runs of many journals; current issues are delayed by three to five years. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Web of Science Core Collection, 1900- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in all subject areas. Includes the following databases: Science Citation Index; Social Science Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Book Citation Index – Science; Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities; Emerging Sources Citation Index; Current Chemical Reactions; Index Chemicus. (Index)

E-books and Books

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and almanacs. (Full-Text)
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. (Full-Text)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, proceedings, and standards on the topics of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.

Introduction to Environmental Science and Sustainability
Introduction to Environmental Sciences and Sustainability is a college-level Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on the most relevant environmental science issues and addresses ways to incorporate sustainable practices. This resource is targeted at environmental science students.
Published by the University of West Florida.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, papers, and data on agriculture, education, employment, environment, finance, transport, and more. Most content is available to read online; content published up to September 1, 2020 can also be downloaded for offline use. (Full-Text)
O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and manuals on various subjects, with an emphasis on information technology, mathematics, and career development. (Full-Text)
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on a variety of academic topics. (Full-Text)
ScienceDirect Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General entry point to journals and ebooks published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiaries. Covers life sciences, physical sciences, medicine, technology, social sciences and humanities. (Full-Text)
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General entry point to Springer publications - journals and books in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics, medicine, and physics and astronomy.
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
General entry point to Wiley publications - journals and ebooks in the life sciences, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Note: UNL does not have full-text access to some materials on this platform.